The Desert of Ice

Regular price $24.99

Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Adventures of Captain Hatteras is an adventure novel by Jules Verne, reprinted in the United States in two parts: The English at the North Pole and The Desert of Ice. The novel was published for the first time in 1864. The definitive version from 1866 was included into Voyages Extraordinaires series. Although it was the first book of the series it was labeled as number two.

Three of Verne's books from 1863-65 (Five Weeks in a Balloon, Journey to the Center of the Earth, and From the Earth to the Moon) were added into the series retroactively. Captain Hatteras shows many similarities with British explorer John Franklin.

This edition includes a new introduction by literary scholar Darrell Schweitzer, as well as a new frontispiece by John Betancourt. Also includes more than 100 illustrations from the original edition.